Struggling for next stages

3 Apr

Previously I thought it would be much easier to get along with the next half semester, since there is no pressure of exams. But it turned out I am totally wrong. I was pushed by three projects: my own research projects supervised by Andreas, KNN projects working with Chenhan as my Parallel Algorithms course projects and possibly first potential publication submitted to SC 15, and NLP projects working with Yu Feng as my NLP course projects.

In the meanwhile, I was a little overwhelmed by the massive homework. NLP released the third homework one week ago. After spending the whole weekend into understanding active learning, I haven’t verified the correctness of my results. It may still take me one or two days to finish the homework wrapup paper. Although I tried to postpone my due date of homework 3 by emailing George, I know I still have to refresh myself with lots of time since I felt lost in class for a while after the midterm.

It is also a little anxious that my AMD offer letter is delivered to me first. Intel claimed to send me the offer letter before April 10th, but I am not sure whether they will keep their promise. Life is hard, I still need to consider how to explain my decision to my boss.

Anyway, just finishing two days’ “academic” life, writing code and paper for the SC 15. I figured out that I didn’t have any academic writing experiences, and I know that it will be much more difficult to depend on anyone else since I am not in an AP’s group. I have to consider my next stage.

Believe in yourself. I know you are the best.

Leave a comment